My Classics Career: Prof Helen King

How did one of the UK’s leading Classicists get to where she is? Prof Helen King blogs on her career on the Women in Classics site.

“I’ve managed (and that word suggests more of a conscious process than it should!) my academic career without a single day of unemployment. But this doesn’t mean it’s all been a bed of roses, and I’m writing this to share my experiences of uncertainty and to tell people how it was in my past, and how I coped, from starting my PhD in 1980. While some things were easier, getting a permanent job in academia wasn’t one of them.”

Read more at the Women in Classics site: http://wcc-uk.blogs.sas.ac.uk/…/my-classics-career-prof-he…/

About ouartsfaculty

The Arts Faculty of The Open University is a world leader in supported Open Learning, and one of the best institutions in the world for arts and humanities. You can follow us on Twitter @OUArtsFaculty and on Facebook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

